day 13 : The dirty picture and 145 movies of fav directors

So last two nights I watched two movies. “Ladies vs RB” was utter shit, I expected some magic from the director of ‘band bazaa baarat’, but its truth they say “expectations is cause of human misery”.

And the other one “the dirty picture”, which I went with heart heartedness expecting nothing but dose of Vidya Balan cleavage.

But that is when I erred. VidyaBalan has done a role of lifetime, and may be a national award awaits her. She has developed her own image, as an actress who can defy the existing contemporary monotonicity of Bollywood. Watch her in Parineeta, Ishqiya and now dirty picture and you will heave a sigh of ______ , that Bollywood still has some act left. Another special mention should be given to dialogue writer, they are packed with optimum punch and power, similar to one in “once upon a time in Mumbai”.

Now everytime I watch a movie I start thinking who else could have done this role, at present in bollywood, none. Vidya Balan eloquently, no I would not say eloquently but rather realistically portrays Silk Smitha. Lemme wiki her, and may be I will provide some info of her life. Naserrudin Shah is always a pleasure to watch, and surprisingly Emranhashmi is doing acting here, remember his first movie, “footpath”.

I would have also written about ‘ladies vs…”, but why waste my energy. What a stupid name, I swear.

I got to see ‘saheb, biwi and ghulam’ too, original and new one. This list of movies keeps on growing and growing. Woody Allen 47-9 = 36 movies are still left to finish, I finished like lemme count

  1. Everyone says I love you (1996)
  2. Sweet and lowdown (199)
  3. Manhattan (1979)
  4. Matchpoint (2005)
  5. Midnight in Paris (2011)
  6. Whatever works (2009)
  7. Vicky Christina Barcelona (2008)
  8. Deconstructing Harry (1997)
  9. Annie Hall (1975)

And of Christopher Nolan 9-7 = 2

  1. Insomnia
  2. Memento
  3. Batman begins
  4. Prestige
  5. The Dark knight
  6. Inception
  7. Following

There are many more directors to finish viz

David Fincher(9-5= 4),

Stanley Kuberick(14-5=9 titles)

Alfred Hitchcock (67-4=63 titles OMG),

Martin Scorsese(29-4=25 titles)

and Quentin Tarantino (14-8=6 titles)

Gosh I really have a miles to watch before I sleep. I guess I should finish Kubrick and Tarantino first, plus I have not included directors as Alexander Payne, Spielberg and Clint Eastwood.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Lady Luck Productions » day 13 : The dirty picture and 145 movies of fav directors …

Leave a Reply

