day 12 : Art of reading novels – an introduction.

A word about Kazuo Ishiguro, now since I have finished “remains of the day”. His reads are evocative ones, there is a storyline, but the way he hides the emotions among words. Its like the way one reads human emotions, you got to have a certain level of EQ to decipher emotions. That is what which makes his books contemporary classics. The intertwined feeling of love, that never comes fully to surface, you have to dive deep to fathom its depth. Like a tip of the iceberg. You read pages, you get some feeling, you think on it  and then you can actually feel it. Not like our times where you write love few times to convey the feeling, I wonder that is why they have genre classics and contemporary.

Well I also think winters are the best times to read up such novels, when temperature outside are dropping, there is moisture and cold in air, and the canopy of quilt gives the requisite shelter and environment to read a novel. And yes there is no one in home to chain-pull your train of thoughts. Someday I might write something on “art of reading”, let this post be an introductory one .

Which reminds me of Ishiguro’s first novel I read, “never let me go”. It was by the seaside of old-french ambiance of Pondicherry I finished the book. Amid the vast expanse of sea, the unending horizon and the shrieks of sea-birds. But this one, ‘remains of the day’ extended well beyond six months. I think it is like a aged scotch, you sip a little, relish it, savor it, and then pass into the state of thinking that only fine scotch can induce. And once you are satisfied and contended, you move on to another sip. A fine book is similar species,(if Darwin would have been alive few more years then definitely fine scotch and fine books would have been classified under same genus) So talking of a fine read, you try to save it for the best of times, and not waste it like a prodigal son, but more like Aisan son.Believe me it is very difficult to get over a hangover after reading a good read. For scotch you have ginger ale, full course meal, and if I remember correct an acquaintance once (impossibly) suggested red-bull. I think jotting your feelings down is the best cure, god save the ones who cant/dont and move around in time-space with an incomplete feeling of something needs to be done. I wont say that I had been stuck by that feeling quite a times, but this time nay !

There are few books which leave a deep impact on your psyche and way of living, like Atlas Shrugged, it inspires you to search the hero in you. Not the google search but rather searching for oneself among the layers of life. The characters larger than life which are heroic and have the charm and integrity. Indeed I should thank my aunt, who gave me my first novel when I was 10 years old. It has been like 16 years now since I got entangled in this hobby, infact it has ceased to be hobby anymore. It is the way of life, and all I can think about when I will be able to write as eloquent as these great writers. Amen.

Leave a Reply

