Confessions of a caffeine addict…

This tribute has way too long shot its deadline.
Whenever I am mesmerized by the aroma of coffee beans, I promise the writer in me, “Come on !!you cant ask for a better afflatus.”. (I know the title is cliched, but who cares !!)

May be today is the day, especially ever since I sipped the south Indian filter coffee…
That nanoseconds of orgasms, when you are drowned in aroma and your palates send first pulse to brain. That is THE MOMENT. No past, no future

Nothing beats afternoon cold kapi @ Singapore’s kopitiam- a black coffee with lots of ice. Or the urbane espressos at America’s finest Starbucks.Thanks to the flat world of Friedman, you can enjoy the authentic south Indian coffee @ Hot chips/saravana bhavan/Murugan. But then too you will miss the roadside coffee they serve in wee hours of morning at Chennai’s roadside.

Even those school days in Varanasi when I waited weeks to enjoy the thick cold coffee of “the kerala cafe”, it always had something in offing. It kind of marked my days of teenage coffee fan. Or even the famous VT’s cold coffee @ BHU, Varanasi.

 

Then came the days of undergraduate days of Himalyan odyssey, those four years went pretty caffeine-less sans the last year, when I started brewing coffee from CCD coffee beans. Man !! It was an joint effort, when you struggled with electric heater, white cotton kerchief as sieve, and aroma filling up whole of corridors after midnight. Other time we usually made hay with nescafe machine coffee-which was like a cheap B grade bollywood flick. Baker’s cafe at Gangtok provided some respite once or twice a month.

Then came the corporate days, which were lost in cappuccinos and frappacinos and macchiato of CCD and Barista in Hyderabad, Kolkata and Delhi. But then cold coffee was my childhood fav, could not give up on that.  And once I caught a entrepreneur lost in “How Starbucks saved my life”, I got fascinated in a conossieurs way, and bought Howard Schultz’s “Pour your heart into it”. I have been pouring my heart ever since 🙂
I thought not giving a mention to shots of espresso will be blasphemy.
It wasnt until I arrived in Chennai- Heart of south India, I tasted the filter coffee, and that’s it !!

 

PS: sequel on hold till I visit Baristas in Italy or if I win World Barista Championship or another afflatus !

 

 

“This coffee falls into your stomach, and straightway there is a general commotion.  Ideas begin to move like the battalions of the Grand Army of the battlefield, and the battle takes place.

Things remembered arrive at full gallop, ensuing to the wind.  The light cavalry of comparisons deliver a magnificent deploying charge, the artillery of logic hurry up with their train and ammunition, the shafts of with start up like sharpshooters.  Similes arise, the paper is covered with ink; for the struggle commences and is concluded with torrents of black water, just as a battle with powder.”

-Honore de Balzac, “The Pleasures and Pains of Coffee”

2 comments

  1. Vijayashree

    Not even a mention of Ya Kun Kaya???? I have heard its one of the finest… They add condensed milk i guess which makes every sip worth its price… A rather particularized confession though 🙂

    • arunabh mishra

      Oh I missed this one @ Ya Kun Kaya….although I had the condensed milk….
      But yeah dat deserves a mention 🙂

Leave a Reply

